Once again, I’m participating (somewhat late in the day but that’s my life) in the Five Minutes for Books carnival. That means you get a glimpse at the fascinating state of my bookshelves. Go on, you know you want to.

Last month, I read and reviewed:

The Map of True Places

The Art of Saying Goodbye

Forgetting English

Sisters of the Sari (click on the link and enter to win your very own free copy! Do it now! I really liked this book)

All 4 were excellent. I read some others too that I’m not telling you about, but if you go to 5 Minutes for Books and click on my pic, you can see all my reviews.

Last month, I took a couple of long afternoons to read some modern retellings of fairy tales, Winter’s Child and Before Midnight. Winter’s Child is a retelling of Hans Christian Andersen’s “The Snow Queen.” It was okay; started good but slowed down. Before Midnight was a retelling of Cinderella, and I really liked it, although of course I already knew what was going to happen.

I also read Spinsters in Jeopardy by Ngaio Marsh, continuing my quest to read all that my library has of her. I’m making good progress.

The Eve Tree. A lovely story of a fragile woman who loves the land she lives on, her husband who loves her, and how they deal with a forest fire that threatens to destroy all they’ve got. Beautifully told. I’ll be reviewing it soon at 5MFB.

I am currently reading:

Black Milk: On Writing, Motherhood, and the Harem Within. I’m going to get a couple of blog posts out of this book, a memoir in which author Elif Shafak describes her worry about balancing the demands of motherhood with her career and avocation as a novelist.

The Bastard of Istanbul  This novel was also written by Elif Shafak. I got it from the library, wanting to see another example of her work. So far, so good. It pulls you right in.

The Most Beautiful Walk in the World: A Pedestrian in Paris A fascinating memoir by an Australian living in Paris. It’s sort of a memoir/history of Paris/his thoughts on life. Good stuff, although it’s making my feet itch to travel.

To read:

(insert long sigh here. Although why? These are all books I’m excited to read!)

Turn Right at Machu Picchu: Rediscovering the Lost City One Step at a Time. This is a combo history book and travel memoir. Looks fun!

The Art of Forgetting  I’m so excited to read this one. It’s about what happens to a long-lasting friendship when one woman experiences a head injury which changes her personality. This is actually one of my favorite things to worry about. I mean, not that my personality is all that ideal, but I am rather used to it.

Partitions: A Novel Set during the violent 1947 partition of India, about uprooted children and their journeys to safety (I just lifted this quote from the back cover. But doesn’t it sound interesting? I’ll let you know)

Stolen Lives: Twenty Years in a Desert Jail
The true story of a Moroccan woman whose family was destroyed by King Hassan II (the current king’s father, from all accounts not a very nice man). Prob. banned in Morocco! I’m looking forward to it.

