I can tell you what’s, well not on my nightstand exactly, but on the table next to the big chair where I do most of my reading. A big stack of books! I’ll share just a couple with you.

Girls Like Us: Fighting for a World Where Girls Are Not for Sale, an Activist Finds Her Calling and Heals Herself. This is a review copy for 5 Minutes for Books and I’m really excited about it. Well, you know what I mean. I’ve already read the prologue and it had me in tears but it was hard to put down. It’s a book about sex trafficking, written by a woman who was in the system herself and now works to help other women and children. Her focus is underage girls. I expect it to be terrible to read but worth it.

As We Forgive: Stories of Reconciliation from Rwanda. This is going to be another tough read. I don’t know how I could handle living next door to someone whom I knew had murdered friends and family members. I have enormous respect for the people of Rwanda. I recently read a long article in an old New Yorker magazine about Rwanda and was amazed at how far they’ve come.

MISS MOLE (VIRAGO MODERN CLASSICS). Donn and I went on a date the other night (yaay for us! We finally used a gift card we’d had since September. Why is it so hard to carve out time to go out together?) and we ended up, as is our wont, at Powell’s, the magical city of books. Miss Mole was written by E.H. Young and was published in 1930. The title character is unmarried and 40 and works as a governess, but she is witty and intelligent and has a sense of fun and irony. I’ve got two other books by the same author, discovered while browsing the stacks of Powells over 20 years ago now. This is why bookstores must not die! I would never have discovered her on Amazon! (even though I am hoping you will click on my links to amazon and buy books and then I will receive a tiny smidge of their profit, but it’s cumulative and eventually I might get $10 from them! Oh the joy!)

The Dwarves This one is still on my literal nightstand, gathering dust. (Seriously; who dusts their bedroom? Oh? You do? Never mind then) Some day I will finish it and Elliot will be happy. But when?

Ok it’s not like I need more reading material. But tell me anyway. What about you? Read any good books lately?

