I don’t know what’s wrong with me. I have ideas for blog posts, but I just don’t get them written. It’s not the weather–I’ve got a post half-written about the incredible spring weather we’ve been having lately, that I expect I’ll finish eventually. But I just can’t get motivated. There are other things going on; friends going through a crisis, a training conference we went to all weekend, my mother breaking her hip and having to have emergency hip replacement surgery and the worry about her immediate future. Maybe that’s my problem–too much real life, not enough virtual life.
I did want to write about the eclipse last week. Did you see it? It was the best one I’ve seen. The brilliance of the slivering moon, the rust hue of the shadow left behind,a rock in the sky unlit by sunlight. Of course, it reminded me of last year’s eclipse, which we watched in Mauritania. That was a decent post, as I recall, and many of you are new here with me. So here it is, in case you missed it the first time around or feel inclined to revisit the past.

I woke up this morning to the gentle sound of water. “Maybe the flood came!” I announced happily to Donn.

For weeks now, we’ve been hearing rumours from locals of a big flood headed our way. Too much sand has been taken from the dunes near the port, so the government recently announced that no more could be taken. But the Equinox marked an unusually high tide, and soon everyone was sure that without those dunes, nothing would stop the water from inundating Nouakchott.

Due to these rumours, many people left town and moved temporarily to inland villages, on the other side of the next big range of dunes. Boutilimit, a town about 100 km from here, was considered far enough to be safe. People asked me if I was worried. “Well, no,” I had to reply. I’m not trying to be arrogant here, but between all the wild rumours I hear, the conspiracy theories (Starbucks gives all its profits to support Israeli offenses! Kellogg’s had some children’s cereal that was toxic so they sent it to the Arab world so be careful!) and the urban myths, I’m not too credulous these days.

It didn’t flood after all, although oddly enough, this morning it rained a teensy-tiny little bit, hardly enough to qualify as a sprinkle. This simply never happens in March, but it’s very welcome. After those weeks of early heat, we’re enjoying some wintry weather here—and I do mean enjoying! We love it when it gets cold enough to wear long-sleeved t-shirts ALL DAY LONG and need a blanket at night (of course the windows are still open—this isn’t exactly the Artic. The desert can get really cold, but we’re on the coast) Also, it didn’t flood but we did get enough city water to actually fill our little reservoir, which means I can get caught up on the laundry and take proper showers again. Life is good.

On March 3rd, we experienced a lunar eclipse. We took the kids out on the roof to watch it. At the moment when the eclipse was total, all around the city the mosques began chanting, reassuring their listeners that all was well and all would be well.

 eclipse01.jpg

In spite of satellite dishes that make thousands of miles seem like the world next door, or the fact that the eggs I buy here were laid by chickens in Brazil, globalization and all its attendant joys and horrors has not erased what might be the most fundamental difference of all—how people interpret the world around them.

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

I’m now also at:

A Perfect Post – January 2007

Blog Stats

  • 342,351 hits

a

<a href="http://www.stumbleupon.com/submit?url=&title=">
Expat Women - Helping Women Living Overseas
living in Morocco

Books recently read:

Elizabeth Jones 's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists
No Princess Alone button

7 comments

I’m sorry to hear about your mother’s accident. I hope her recovery is a smooth one without a lot of long-term implications.

Perhaps your muse is still off gallivanting with mine.

That was a lovely account of the eclipse on the other side of the world. I was the only one in this household still awake at ten o’clock to enjoy our lunar eclipse last week. I watched it from the guest room window, it was too cold to stand in the yard with my mouth wide open. But I do remember a day when living in Miami that I used to think I wanted some cold. I, like you, ached for long sleeves and woolens. Now it’s just a pain in the rear end, all this layering.

I saw the eclipse last week! And yes, that’s worthy of an exclamation point because it was my first time. I can’t remember ever seeing an eclipse before with my own eyes. It was so cool. I just kept raving like a lunatic to my husband, “Look at it now! I mean, it’s getting dark! No wonder the ancients thought the world was ending.” He graciously ignored me.

Your poor mom! I hope she’s recovering well.
I have some awful writer’s block right now. I think it’s the time of year.
And yes, I did watch the lunar eclipse – it was beautiful!

so sorry to hear about your mother! hope she recovers easily.

thanks for the repost. that was a wonderful, beautiful glimpse into your life in mauritania.

Nature — the great equalizer…

Sending your mom prayers for a quick healing.

I think blogging goes in cycles, like everything else. Sometimes we have the energy for it, sometimes we don’t. I hope you don’t put pressure on yourself. I enjoy reading whenever you feel like writing.

I DID see the eclipse. It was brilliant here in Ohio. But too cold to stand out long and we didn’t have a good view from a window.
I liked authormomwithdogs’ comment. I’ve been having a hard time lately, too, but I have been making a point to (try) not (to) be hard on myself. I’ll write what I can, when I can, and it will be what it will.
Prayers for your mother and those caring for her.
Oh, and THAT is some crazy urban mythology going on. Don’t they have snopes.com?


