Jeana wrote the other week about left-handed compliments, although I must say that I have received some awfully nice compliments from left-handed people. My mother calls those with that talent for the devastating comment “diplomats in reverse.” It’s a talent that at least 2 of my children excel in—I don’t mean to boast, but they are really good. Here’s Elliot’s latest example.

We got given this DVD of U2’s latest concert tour for Christmas. Donn and I have been U2 fans for years, but we were unprepared for Elliot’s enthusiasm. He loves it. He watches it every day.

He came up to me in the kitchen the other night. “Do you think I’ll still like U2 when I’m a grown-up?”
“Probably,” I said. “I still do. Of course, I’ve liked them since I was a teenager.”
(gasp) “They were teenagers when they became a rock band?”

“Well, I think so. I’m not sure how old they were when they first put out an album, but I was in high school when I first heard of them.” (pause) “You do realize they are a little older than we are, right?”

“Yeah,” he hesitated. “But they’re more active.”

In other news, it’s national de-lurking week and/or month. What, you say, is a lurker? In blog-ese, it’s someone who reads a blog but never comments, never, not even once. To me, the expression ‘lurker’ always sounds a little shady, like someone hiding round a corner in a dark alley with malicious intent, ready to pounce. As for de-lurking, it sounds downright shocking! I don’t know who comes up with these expressions.

I really don’t care if you lurk—I’m just happy to have readers. On the other hand, I am insanely curious. So, if you want, just click on the word “comments” and write a little something in the box below.

Not sure what to write? Here’s a sample; just cut and paste.

“Wow, you are the best writer I have ever read in my life!! Better than Margaret Atwood, Lemony Snicket and T.S. Eliot combined! I read you religiously and never miss a post. Ever. Keep writing. Oh, and here is a big wad of cash/amazon gift certificate, just for fun.”

